VLC Day 7-8: Information overload

Listened to Robb Wolf’s Podcast and a concept ironically leached into my day from them that they paradoxically made fun of. Greg Everett, Robb’s sidekick on the podcast (or frontkick?) made fun of one of the listeners’ questions. The listener commented to Rob and Greg that this Paleo thing “was working really well” for him,then proceeded to ask him if he should try training X or diet X. They laughed out loud. Why would you try anything else if you’ve reached something that works? If it’s not broke, why fix it? Greg commented that this seems to be a new phenomenon in the area of nutrition with so many different bodies and reactions to foods and dogmas, we are totally overloaded with information and not stopping long enough to look at ourselves. How am I reacting to this? Is this working for me? Have I given it long enough and pure enough to see if it’s working?

The paradox is that later in the podcast, there was so much talk of consuming large amounts of sweet potatoes on training days and linking that to all of the carb cycling talk from Martin Berkhan I’ve read, I ended up eating a ton of sweet potatoes at lunch that led to me missing my goals. Oopsie. Oh well. I’m going to stick to VLC (or trying to) for my own n=1, but I need to avoid getting caught in that “information overload” that can endanger our sanity. I think avoiding computers for the most part after work is a good thing for me; I just need to be able to focus on certain information it seems.

For me, until about a week ago everything was loose adherence except for the intermittent fasting. I got such great results I am taking it to the next level. I am definitely not dropping the fasting…that works. I feel great, not hungry, more energy; more time without worrying about a good breakfast. I need to focus on my VLC test and stick to at least a no-gluten state and see what happens. Accountability, baby. N=1 forevs.

So here’s my main principles still:

  1. Less than 50 grams of carbs a day
  2. About a 10% or less macro carb %
  3. Eat whole foods
  4. No sugars – a coconut dessert and dark chocolate
  5. No grains
  6. Drink tons of water
  7. Very limited legumes – some tofu
  8. Very limited alcohol – totally sober 🙂
  9. Sleep!
  10. Supplement with multi-vite, 2,000 IU/day, and fish oil as needed (when I may have an off-balance 3:6)

146g Carbs

Day 7 was a 75%.

Day 8: 70%

The downfall was…I have no idea. I was really hungry so I ate. Don’t really feel bad about that.

  1. Less than 50 grams of carbs a day
  2. About a 10% or less macro carb %
  3. Eat whole foods
  4. No sugars – a coconut dessert, dark chocolate, some cheat candy
  5. No grains
  6. Drink tons of water
  7. Very limited legumes – some tofu
  8. Very limited alcohol – totally sober 🙂
  9. Sleep!
  10. Supplement with multi-vite, 2,000 IU/day, and fish oil as needed (when I may have an off-balance 3:6)

114g Carbs – getting better, nowhere near there yet, though.

Leave a Reply

