Chipotle: Ethical and low carb

I would hate but....I've been there.

Here’s a follow up post to the one I just did on Chipotle, which is essentially the only restaurant chain I ever eat at.

Sometimes you just don’t feel like cooking and you really want to do the whole paleo thing. I have heard about apps like PaleoGoGo but ha! I am too poor to want an iPhone, I do not want an iPhone, and even if I had an iPhone, these apps don’t usually pertain to folks like me in rural areas. I can do this work myself; and I kind of enjoy it.

In order of ethical standards at Chipotle, here’s the deal. The pork is 100% outdoor raised, the beef 85%, and they are working on the chicken. Use that into your decision-making if you wish.

Here’s an example of the “typical burrito” that I used to get a few years ago (calculated with this nifty tool that Chipotle fans put together). I was a vegetarian then, so this includes no meat.

Chipotle vegetarian burrito without sour cream

This burrito has a 13″ tortilla, black beans, fajita veggies, rice, salsa, cheese, and guacamole. Oh yeah, and it also has about a day’s worth of carbohydrates and the same amount of protein as a single serving of pork:

a single serving of pork at Chipotle

Moving on, let’s flash to the present. This is what I get now, and it is absolutely awesome.

burrito bol with carnitas, fajita veggies, no rice or beans, two salsas, lettuce, and guacamole

If I feel like cheating, I get chips on the side and make it like nachos. The chips are not the most ideal, though. Check it:

That’s actually more calories than the meal I got by itself. Ouch. However, sometimes it’s merited. Even if it does make me feel kind of sick. You only live once, right?

One response to “Chipotle: Ethical and low carb

  1. Pingback: Chipotle deserves some credit | former vegetarian

Leave a Reply

