VLC Days 4 and 5: Patience and Learning.

Still haven’t perfected it yet. Does that mean I am giving up? HA.

Taking out the “minus cheat” function. That’s just tantalizing. I’ve got to get into my range.

This is actually all strangely reassuring knowing what crud I have been putting into my mouth that makes my body react so negatively and the sheer volume of it that I have shoved into that orifice for so long. The only reason, I am coming to understand, that I am not grossly unhealthy and have a terrible body composition is that I absolutely love exercise and have thrived on rigorous cardiovascular activity almost all of my life. I am coming to understand not that this exercise was the silver bullet, but that it was burning off the excess carbohydrate that I was eating and masking the underlying issue. It was only when I could no longer keep up at the pace that I had been going that I realized diet was actually a problem. No, you cannot eat whatever you want if you exercise. Nor should you. You’re only masking a problem. Even if you are making your muscles healthy, you could be leaching calcium from your bones and teeth (case and point in the height of my stint as a triathlete 14 cavities!) and hurting the sustainability of your active lifestyle by risking injury and internal issues.

On to the 100% accountability.

Day 4, a weekend. – 65%

  1. Less than 50 grams of carbs a day
  2. About a 10% or less macro carb %
  3. Eat whole foods
  4. No sugars
  5. No grains – had lots of corn, no wheat
  6. Drink tons of water
  7. Very limited legumes – had some black beans
  8. Very limited alcohol – two drinks
  9. Sleep!
  10. Supplement with multi-vite, 2,000 IU/day, and fish oil as needed (when I may have an off-balance 3:6)

146g carbs

Day 5, a weekend. – 70%

  1. Less than 50 grams of carbs a day
  2. About a 10% or less macro carb %
  3. Eat whole foods
  4. No sugars
  5. No grains – Had some wheat, limited rice
  6. Drink tons of water
  7. Very limited legumes
  8. Very limited alcohol – NONE
  9. Sleep!
  10. Supplement with multi-vite, 2,000 IU/day, and fish oil as needed (when I may have an off-balance 3:6)


143g carbs

Leave a Reply

